Structure and organisation

A large number of assessments by a variety of academic organisations have emphasised variety in the organisation of doctoral qualifications as one of the key strengths of the European university landscape. Yet this variety needs appropriate measures to protect it against fragmentation and idiosyncrasies that can be detrimental to a constructive research environment. The unrestricted publication of all rules and regulations is one measure that can create the required transparency and reliability for both doctoral students and their supervisors.

As models of good practice, the European Association of Universities (EUA) recommends the establishment of a central university organisational body that is responsible for the coordination of doctoral research programmes and for the formulation of uniform guidelines for the entire university (“Code of Practice”). These guidelines also include centralised information on courses and services available to doctoral students. Research-intensive universities in particular require a central management and coordination body of this kind, which should be independent of individual teaching and research activities.

It is with this in mind that the University of Stuttgart has devised its GRADUS concept. GRADUS provides a central platform as envisaged in the Code of Practice and forms a link between the individual forms of doctoral research and university bodies such as the faculties, institutes, internal and external institutions and the University Administration. At the same time, internal issues remain within the remit of the faculties and committees for doctoral matters.

The administration of the academy is subsumed in the field of studies and teaching of the University of Stuttgart. Since end of 2012 the academic chairman is Prof. Rohde (Institut für angewandte Analysis und numerische Simulation).

vorOffice

Struktur und Organisation

Struktur und Organisation

Zahlreiche Stellungnahmen unterschiedlichster Wissenschaftsorganisationen heben die Vielfalt in der Organisation der Doktorandenqualifizierung als Stärke der europäischen Hochschullandschaft hervor. Allerdings soll gerade diese Vielfalt durch geeignete Maßnahmen vor Fragmentierung und Beliebigkeit geschützt werden, die einer förderlichen Forschungsumgebung abträglich sein kann. Die uneingeschränkte Bekanntmachung aller Regelungen und Ordnungen schaffen die notwendige Transparenz und Verlässlichkeit für Doktorandinnen/ Doktoranden wie für Betreuerinnen und Betreuer. 

Als „good practice“ empfiehlt die European Association of Universities (EUA) u. a. die Einrichtung einer zentralen universitären Organisationseinheit, die für die Koordination von Promotionsprogrammen und der Erarbeitung einheitlicher Richtlinien für die gesamte Universität („Code of Practices“) verantwortlich ist. Dazu gehören auch zentral verfügbare Informationen über Veranstaltungsangebote für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. Insbesondere forschungsintensive Universitäten bedürfen einer solchen zentralen Steuerungs- und Koordinierungseinheit, welche unabhängig von einzelnen fachlichen Lehr- und Forschungsaktivitäten sein sollte.

An dieser Stelle setzt die Universität Stuttgart mit ihrem GRADUS-Konzept an. GRADUS bietet eine solche zentrale Plattform und stellt das verbindende Band zwischen den einzelnen Promotionsformen und Universitätseinheiten wie u. a. Fakultäten, Institute, interne wie externe Einrichtungen und der zentralen Verwaltung dar, wobei die fachlichen Entscheidungen bei den Fakultäten und ihren Promotionsausschüssen bleiben.

Die administrative Leitung der Akademie ist dem Bereich Studium und Lehre der Universität Stuttgart zugeordnet. Die wissenschaftliche Leitung übernimmt seit Ende 2012 Prof. Rohde (Institut für angewandte Analysis und numerische Simulation).

Näheres zur Struktur und Organisation ist in der Ordnung der Graduierten-Akademie Universität Stuttgart (GRADUS) (pdf iconpdf) (11. Januar 2011) festgeschrieben.

vorGeschäftsstelle